Post#10 About gurus

Thrissur is very spiritual city, but yet, I don’t really know much about his practices of Hinduism. As I show a lot of enthusiasm every time people invite me to do something new,  I was welcome to come with a family to meet a guru, (apparently it was a really famous one) but I don’t think nobody was actually expecting me to go.

I had absolutely no idea where I was going, literally zero. I went with my boss family and I was told I shouldn’t have any magical expectations about the meeting. My mind was completely blank anyway… A bit happy of my zero expectations but not proud at all of my complete ignorance on the subject.

It was very crowded and I was practically the only foreigner there. My boss sister gave us a number, so we just made the line instead of waiting. The guru arrives in the morning and spends twelve consecutive hours giving blessings to people. She comes with servants who live in the ashram with her. They are from every part of the world, they are all charming, dressed in white and they have this peaceful and contagious smile. The music was lovely as well, a group of people singing and playing instruments on the stage next to more people sitting and meditating. The energy was joyful.

The guru gave me a hug, she whispered something in my ear and gave me a sweet kiss on the cheek. Her name is Amma.

I don’t know the reason, probably because I look like that was my first time I went there, but they ask me to go on stage, so I happily sat there with them for a while. They were all sweet and beautiful. It was very nice.

By chance, in this Guru documentary, Louis Theroux travels to Anjuna, Goa, the beach I fell in love with, and on his final seek for enlightenment he joins Amma on a pilgrimage as I did, documenting the same experience I’m telling you. I hope you take a look at the video.

2013-04-08 02.05.462013-04-08 02.04.17

After visiting Guru Amma, I realized she was all around the city 🙂 and now I know much more about her. If you are interested in visiting her ashram or checking more about her visit the amritapuri.org

One response to “Post#10 About gurus

Leave a comment